At work, I have a lot of machines at my disposal.  Yeah yeah, What I do with them all 😉  I install various servers for the team. Most of the times I play with the installations, but some times the machines start playing with you. That’s when they look like one of those innocent devils.

I had an Exchange 2007 SP1 server installed, with Outlook 2007 on the same box. For 2 long months its been running like a sweet innocent kid. Today no idea what had gotten into it, when I tried to open Exchange Management Console, it yelled at me with the following error message.

Active Directory server example.com is not available.
Error message: A local error occurred.
It was running command ‘get-ExchangeAdministrator’.

The following error(s) were reported while loading topology information:

get-ExchangeServer
Failed
Error: Active Directory server example.com is not available.
Error message: A local error occurred.

get-UMServer
Failed
Error: Active Directory server example.com is not available.
Error message: A local error occurred.

What First?
Check the active directory service ( Program > Administrative tools > Services)
But it was running hale and hearty.

What next then?
Log on the Exchange server by using another admin account.

Open Control Panel, select System.
Select Advanced tab and click the Settings button of User Profile.
Delete the Profile of user which encounters this issue.
Click OK.

Restart the server and log onto it using the Administrator account.

For logging into domain controller other than Administrator, you need to provide administrator rights to user.
Go to Program > Administrative tools > Active Directory Users and Computers
Now in domain tree , go to Builtin > Administrators > Properties > Members tab and add your user here.

Following these steps, I got my server back from the dead 🙂

